Mexico has three different time zones. The predominant one is the Central Zone. This is the equivalent to the Central Time Zone in the U.S.A. and Canada (UTC -6) and covers over three-fourths of the country, including all of central and eastern Mexico, Mexico City, and to Cancun in the Yucatan Peninsula. The second time zone covers the northern coastal areas and states, including Baja California Sur, Nayarit, and Sinaloa. It is an hour behind the main time zone in Mexico, thus seven hours behind Greenwich Mean Time. The third Mexico time zone is located in the northern state of Baja California, equivalent to the Canadian and United States Pacific Time. It is two hours behind Central Time in the U.S.A.  and eight hours behind Greenwich Mean Time.

In Mexico, Daylight Saving Time is known as the horario de Verano (summer schedule). Throughout most of the country, the dates of Daylight Saving Time in Mexico are different from the United States or Europe, which can cause some confusion. In Mexico, Daylight Saving Time begins the first Sunday in April and ends the last Sunday in October. Take note that the state of Sonora, as well as some remote villages,  do not change their clocks. Also, be aware that some Mexican border cities have adopted Daylight Saving Time to coincide with the United States.